oh, this and that

A journal of simple pleasures, travel, food and minutiae.

Aging Beautifully!

As I watched the flowers that I had gathered from my garden metamorphose from promising buds to full blooms to wilted forms, I was entranced by their beauty at each stage. I was struck most of all by how gracefully they had withered in the vase. While flowers are undeniably spectacular in full bloom, I found them equally alluring in wilted form. It didn’t matter that the flowers were faded and past their prime — I saw they had not completely lost their appeal. The wrinkles and the distorted form had given the flowers a new sex appeal. I had an epiphany — a woman ages beautifully — just like a flower.

These pictures capture the stunning beauty of flowers as they mature. Different types of flowers were selected to show how each one has its own unique way of wilting. Some flowers changed colors to a lighter shade while others took on a deeper and more vivid color than they were in their youth. I chose to portray these flowers against a white / black background to draw the viewer to the beguiling charms of imperfect flowers. So, next time you see a faded flower, I hope you’ll notice its new-found glamour and not its lost glamour.

12 comments on “Aging Beautifully!

  1. vanecktharien
    March 24, 2013

    Purple babe is beautiful!

    • Ree
      March 24, 2013

      Thank you! Indeed, she is.

  2. Bams Triwoko
    April 6, 2013

    Beautiful flowers… very well captured.. 🙂

    • Ree
      April 6, 2013

      Thank you, Bams!

  3. pix & kardz
    April 6, 2013

    i so agree – each phase in a flower’s life has its own beauty. thanks for sharing 🙂

    • Ree
      April 6, 2013

      Glad you liked it! Thank you!

  4. Amar Naik
    April 7, 2013

    nice presentation.

  5. Ree
    April 7, 2013

    Thanks, Amar!

  6. Garden Walk Garden Talk
    January 28, 2014

    Very nice. I too did a post like this a long time ago. I admire flowers in all stages of life.

    • Ree
      January 28, 2014

      Thank you. I must check out your post too.

      • Garden Walk Garden Talk
        January 28, 2014

        I can’t remember what the post was called, but I actually microwaved the flower and got some really interesting photos from doing that. I do a lot of art photography because I am an artist first and foremost. Photography is my hobby, but I like to push boundaries. I do a lot in Photoshop too, like painting photographs. I see you are a very accomplished photographer. I followed your blog too.

      • Ree
        January 28, 2014

        Thank you, Donna, for your kinds words. Photography is my hobby too. I did a show class and displayed these prints. I would love to see your flowers pics..i’ll look in your archives.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2013 by in Flowers, PHOTOGRAPHY and tagged , , , , , , , , .
