oh, this and that

A journal of simple pleasures, travel, food and minutiae.

Helsinki – A Scandinavian Gem!

I love to travel for the thrill of seeing new places. I especially like to go to non-touristic or lesser known places and be mesmerized by what I discover. Last year, my lust for travel took me to Helsinki. I immediately fell in love with this city for its aesthetics. Everywhere you look, you’ll see fantastic architecture; there’s always something to catch your eye. It’s no surprise, Helsinki was named World Design Capital in 2012. The city is so compact that you can see most places on foot. But I did ride a bike to some major sights like the Lutheran Church, the Design Museum and the Uspenski Cathedral. And if you are not in a mood for sightseeing, there’s even a lovely bike path along the shoreline to simply enjoy the scenic views. At night, I loved how serene the lit backdrop of the city was while walking on the waterfront promenade. I still can’t help smiling when I think of this Scandinavian gem.

 

2 comments on “Helsinki – A Scandinavian Gem!

  1. Shane Francescut
    March 8, 2013

    I’ve always wanted to visit Helsinki. I’ll make it there someday. Thanks for showing it off.

    • Ree
      March 8, 2013

      Shane, I’m glad you liked it. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 20, 2013 by in TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , .
