oh, this and that

A journal of simple pleasures, travel, food and minutiae.

A Healthy Indulgence (maybe, maybe not)

Truth be told? I don’t really live to eat, though I do sometimes overindulge in eating things I love. Freshly sliced avocado on toasted bread is my latest indulgence. I eat this either for lunch or as a late afternoon snack almost every other day. The best part is that it takes no effort to fix a sandwich like this. After I finish layering the bread with avocado, I sometimes add sliced red onions and feta cheese for that bit of oomph. Other extras like a pinch of pepper and a dash of lemon juice and olive oil make it irresistible. Now I shouldn’t forget to say how gorgeous it looks when I set it on a tray lined with wax paper. Wouldn’t you agree?

(inspiration for the recipe format came from an article on Yvette Van Boven in nytimes)

6 comments on “A Healthy Indulgence (maybe, maybe not)

  1. annetjiesepoems
    December 21, 2012

    That looks amazing!

    • Ree
      December 21, 2012

      Thank you!

  2. seeker
    December 21, 2012

    Avocado, very nutritious, with or with bread. I’ll take the feta anytime. I’ll try it since I have four in stock right now. Yummy.

  3. Ree
    December 21, 2012

    Thanks and I agree with you. Avocado is great in its own right!

  4. Bestof2sisters
    December 22, 2012

    Was looking through my “reader” with the search word “vegetarian” and I immediately stopped on your site and the great photo! Loved it!

    • Ree
      December 22, 2012

      Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate you letting me know how you found my post. This will help me tag my future posts appropriately.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 21, 2012 by in FOOD, Lunch and tagged , , , , , , , , .
